Lately I have been thinking a lot about the importance of getting to the root of a problem, rather than just throwing a band-aid on it.  You might think this was brought to my attention due to a health problem, or maybe an issue with my car.  But you would be wrong.  This has been brought to the forefront of my mind due to living with a toddler.  A toddler boy.  A two year old toddler boy with and endless amount of energy.  This little man follows me around the house messing up everything that I clean.  When I spend time putting his toys away in their box, I turn around to find all of the Tupperware littered across the kitchen floor.  And as soon as that is cleaned up, he has taken it upon himself to empty his dad’s old micro machines all over the family room.

Remember those?  Remember how tiny they are?  Remember how many of them come in a set?  Now you feel my pain.

But what really started the conversation was when I watched my husband picking up decorative rocks from the floor WITHOUT first moving the dish they were in out of the reach of the toddler in question.   So of course before he could pick up one handful, there were two more on the floor.  Now I’m not going to lie.  Seeing as this is the kind of thing I deal with all day, I did take a few moments to sit back and watch the situation with pleasure, and I may or may not have pointed and laughed.  But once that moment had passed, we moved the dish and the problem was solved.  This probably seems like common sense, but how many times have you heard about someone simply replacing their carpet after a basement floods, without first figuring out what caused the flood in the first place? If you walk into your business on a Saturday morning to soaking wet carpets, it might be tempting to get out the shop vac and fan so you can open up for your busiest day of the week.  But when it happens again and you end up having to close your store for a week, you’re going to wish you would have gone over the root cause analysis rather than simply covering up the problem.

If this situation sounds familiar, or is one you’re looking to avoid, Royal Services might be the perfect partner for you.  At Royal, our goal is to get your business up and running as quickly as possible, but we will not sacrifice quality for speed of service.  We take our time finding out what problems you are facing and the best way to avoid seeing them again.  If you break your arm, you wouldn’t accept a doctor’s advice to simply take pain medications and deal with it.  You would get your arm fixed.  And Royal feels the same way about your business.  If you have a problem, we won’t simply put makeup on it and hope it goes away.  We will determine the true cause and do whatever it takes to make sure we do not have to make repeat visits about the same issue.  This might take more time initially, and it might cost more up front, but in the end it will save you time and money as you will likely never have to worry about the same problem again.

Now I am off to take my own advice, and put locks on every cabinet in the house!

 

