This week, I had the pleasure of visiting our local zoo with my grandma, mom and two sons – four generations together for my boys’ first visit to the zoo!  Granted, one of them is only six months and just as happy staring into my face as he is staring into the face of a gorilla, but we were really looking forward to the two year old’s reactions when he saw all of the animals that he has only read about in books!  I have mentioned his energy level in previous blogs, and on this topic he did not disappoint.  My fitbit showed that I had reached my goal of 10,000 steps and 5 miles by 1pm that day, and let’s just say that the little guy did not spend much time in the stroller, so he was right there with me.  And so was my grandma, I might point out. You go girl! But on the animal front, his reactions were not what I was expecting.  You see, this child says “Oh WOW!” every time my husband or myself successfully uses the restroom, so when he finally saw an elephant IRL, I figured he would be beside himself.  But in reality, his response was reminiscent of a certain family favorite:

This kid talked about monkeys in the car all the way to the zoo – I got through “Ten Little Monkeys” more than once – but when he was finally face to face with one, he looked at it, then looked at me and said “Mo mo?” (and in case you don’t speak two year old, this means more).  He loved running from place to place, so I think that for him, getting there really was half the fun!

zoo ps

Overall, it was a great day and one that will go down in our memory books.  All five of us are so lucky that we were able to have that experience together, and it reminded me of how important it is to take time out to spend time with family and have experiences that you will remember for a lifetime.

So many people spend their days with work on the mind, whether they are physically at the office or not. If that sounds like you, then you are missing life!  It is so important to unwind and give your brain a break.  I watched the movie Inside Out last night, and it reminded me how important it is to feel joy, and you can do that by spending time doing things that make you happy.  Royal Services is a great example of a company who truly values time with family.  They do not have “sick days” built into their compensation packages.  They simply allow for paid time off, so if your child has a field trip or if your family is in need of a long weekend, there is no need for dishonesty, spending an entire Thursday pretending to come down with something (don’t act you’ve never done this!).  It allows the company to prepare for your absence, and allows its employees to spend essential time with family.  It’s too bad more companies do not embrace this culture, maybe people as a whole would be happier!

So next time you are feeling a little down in the dumps, or like you are in a rut, take some time to do something that makes you happy – I promise you will have a new outlook by the end of the day!

 

 

 

 

