Doing what you love

I have recently decided to start a small photography business in my spare time.  I have two young boys, so there isn’t much of that going around, but I got a fancy camera for Christmas and it turns out I’m not half bad!  I’m constantly taking pictures of those poor boys, so much so that my 7 month old smiles when he sees me get the camera out.  I’ve trained him well.  I love capturing those precious moments with my own family and thought that it would be nice to do that for other families as well.  Since the moment I decided to embark on this new adventure, I have not done much else with my time; I absolutely love it!  And the best part is that when I am focusing all of my time taking pictures, editing, and perfecting, my husband can’t roll his eyes because I could actually make money from it someday!  I finally know what it’s like to “love what you do.”  I have had several jobs in the past, but I have always completely checked out at the end of the day and not given my work a single thought until the next morning when I punched in.  As you can imagine, that did not make for very enjoyable days.  But now, something has changed.  I look forward to working, I think about it constantly and am always trying to come up with new ideas for the business.  Now, at this point you might be thinking that this is actually more of a hobby, and you would be right as I have yet to make any money.  But the idea of monetizing this passion I have is so exciting and I look forward to working toward this goal and making a mini-career out of it.  As the famous quote states,

Are you wondering why I’m telling you all of this?  It’s to inspire you to do what you love!  Not everyone has the opportunity, I understand that.  Sometimes you have to take jobs that you don’t love in order to support yourself or your family, and that is just a fact of life. Sometimes you might be afraid that if you start doing what you love for a job you will not love it any longer.  Those are both valid concerns and things to think about before you make any big changes.  But if you have the chance to take a job that truly makes you happy, you should do whatever it takes to make it happen.  This might mean you take a pay cut.  If you can afford to do that, your health and happiness might just be worth it!  This woman changed her career to do something she loved and has compiled a list of “essential ingredients” for doing what you love.  Take a look and it might give you that extra push!  Now this approach is not for everyone.  You’ll want to be realistic and make sure you have a solid prospect before you make any big decisions.  Do NOT be like George:

George quit his job in a fit of rage and has literally no skills.  He probably should have kept his job.  And you also might be fearful to make a move if what you truly love isn’t something that you envisioned yourself doing, or isn’t up to the standards that you think others have for you.  But don’t let this deter you.  The people who truly care about you want you to be happy; in fact, your mood probably affects them as well so they will be happier if you are!  And if you are afraid of judgement from your friends, then you probably shouldn’t  be friends with those people anyway.  Sometimes what we love as grown-ups isn’t what we thought we would love when we were in high school or college, planning for our futures.  But I have personally witnessed several people in my life, including myself, who are doing things that they had no intention of doing, but found the love and passion and ran with it.  If you can find a job that you love, you have the opportunity for happier days, less stressful evenings and a more enjoyable life all around.

Good luck on your new adventure, I’m off to take more pictures!

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

