Something I always dread is going to Wal-Mart.  Or Home Depot.  Or THE MALL. Ugh, the mall.  I never look forward to going to giant stores with people who walk side by side, taking up the whole aisle, at half the speed of smell.  Or who park their carts DIRECTLY in front of the exact item I need and act annoyed with me when I politely say “excuse me,” grab my item and run away.  One time at Home Depot, a woman was standing in front of the paint samples I was looking at, so rather than say anything I just placed the sample I didn’t need down on the counter.  And she yelled at me!  She was upset because I DIDN’T say excuse me.  I can’t win.  So if I have the choice, I prefer to go to smaller stores with plenty of people around to help me if I need it, but not a ton of people slowing me down at every turn. Does this look like fun to you?

A store that I really like is Westlake Ace Hardware.  Westlake was actually founded in Missouri, my home state, and the President and CEO of Westlake gave the commencement speech at my undergraduate graduation.  So I might have a little soft spot; but I also never dread going there!  They always have what I need, and if they don’t they will gladly order it for me.  When the technology came about that allowed hardware stores to match your paint color to an item, I was so excited to find a new color for my home that was created by me!  I took in a pillow to Home Depot and was told that for one reason or another, they were unable to match it; something to do with the fabric, or that it was fabric, I don’t quite remember.  What I do remember is that the person working seemed like he wanted to be anywhere else and I didn’t feel that I had been helped to the fullest extent of his abilities.  I then decided that I would give Westlake a try, and lo and behold, I walked out of that store with the exact color I needed!  The sales associate was friendly and helpful, as they always are there, and they now have a customer for life.

Physical stores are not the only businesses that can benefit from staying at a smaller size.  A personal touch has been all but forgotten in this automated world; it’s gotten to the point where it’s a surprise when a phone is answered by a person, rather than a machine.  There is nothing more frustrating than needing to speak to someone RIGHT NOW and being forced to spend countless minutes pushing a number, or screaming “Speak to a representative!!!!” in the phone.  If there was an emergency at your home, you could call 911 and speak to someone immediately.  So if there is an emergency at your place of business, don’t you want that same opportunity?  If you walk into a flooded store, you don’t have time to go through a long menu of items before you can finally speak to someone who may or may not be able to help you.  Royal Services offers the personal touch for your facility maintenance needs; when you partner with Royal, you will always have one point of contact because Royal has seen the benefit of being smaller than some of the huge international corporations, like JLL or CBRE.  They have focused on developing long-lasting relationships and quality service.  But just because they are a little bit smaller than the giants does not mean they do not have all of the resources that your business needs.  Take a look at this video to learn more about Royal and what they can do for you!

