I am not thankful for…

This time of year, we spend so much time thinking and talking about what we are thankful for.  And that is AMAZING.  It is important, it is healthy.  There is absolutely nothing wrong with remembering the reasons we are lucky and happy.  But what if we switched it up, and spoke about the things for which we are not thankful, promoting action within ourselves?  For example, I am not thankful for hungry children.  I hate the thought of families not having enough to eat, especially around this time of so much gluttony for many of the more fortunate.  The next step to the “I’m not thankful” plan is to be part of the solution.  If I’m not thankful for hunger, then the obvious next step is to do something about it.  Feed someone, donate food, invite someone less fortunate to dinner.  But the solution portion of this plan  may take some time and planning, so don’t feel as though you have to come up with something concrete right away.  But rather than simply thinking about it and pushing it out of your mind, write it down and put it on your refrigerator.  Make it a part of your new year’s resolution.  Think about what you can do to help others all year, not just around Thanksgiving.  That being said, here is my “Not Thankful” list this year:

I am not thankful for:

  1. Hungry Children – I stated this above, but it’s on my list so I don’t want to forget it!
  2. Stress – I don’t like being stressed myself, and I don’t want my family or loved ones to feel it either.  Next week, I will lay out my plan for combating stress for myself and others during this holiday season!
  3.  Anger – I don’t like when others are angry with me, and I especially don’t like when I am angry with others!  Maybe my plan will be watching Frozen on repeat and learning to “Let it go.”
  4. Time away from family – don’t get me wrong, I don’t think the idea my mom and I came up with of a commune for our family will actually work.  Some time away from family is healthy.   However, I don’t like when too much time passes, or when I could be spending time with my boys but I’m working instead – like right now!  I also don’t like the idea of people (other than our heroes, police officers and firefighters) having to work and be away from family on the holidays.  That is why I appreciate companies like this!


  5. Sadness – sometimes this is unavoidable.  But there are ways to pull yourself out of it, and I intend to find those ways for the next time I or someone I love is feeling down.

This is a start.  And hopefully it gives you some ideas for your list!  If you have some great ideas you would like to share, please do so in the comments below!

2 Comments

  1. Every year, for as far back as I can remember, I adopt someone or an organization to work with at this time of year. I don’t do tree angels. For example, one year I went to a small nursing home and asked them to give me the name and sizes of one individual who had no family visiting them. Another year, I had a private waste management individual who’s daughter died from a drug OD and he fell upon hard times raising his only granddaughter. I donate to Thin Line Support for all those who serve in public service. This year I’m sending supplies to our troops through Operation Give. I recycle concientiously…just to name a few. I do these things anonymously–I don’t want to be front and center and I am not looking for thanks. This makes me feel whole and that I am doing what little I can to make some things better in this world. Thank you for posting this – if everyone would do just a little bit, it would add up and make a BIG difference. Warmest Regards – Margaret Wood

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

