And again…

insanity

According to this quote, you can definitely consider my husband and myself certifiably insane.  Because we yet again chose to attend a Wyndham sales pitch believing that it would be more about education, and less about taking our money.  Because, of course, when we signed up for the meeting we were TOLD it would be more about education and less about taking our money.  In case you haven’t read this piece, I’ll give you a little back story: We have owned a Wyndham timeshare for about 5 years now, and we really do love it.  We always have a nice place to stay, with wonderful amenities and of course with young children, having a multi-bedroom suite with a full kitchen is like a dream compared to a cramped hotel room.  Our latest trip was to Washington D.C. where my husband had a trade show to attend for work.  During the days when he was working, I cannot even imagine having to stay in a small hotel room and still provide meals and naps for the boys, while holding on to my sanity.  The only complaint or negative comment we ever have about our stay is the brutal sales meeting we always attend.  Don’t get me wrong – we are not FORCED to attend these meetings.  But the incentive is usually pretty amazing.  This time, they offered to pay for our parking for the week, which was quite a hefty chunk of change!  But once again, we left the meeting saying it wasn’t worth it.  It’s never worth it!  This particular meeting really frustrated me because of the verbiage that was being used over and over again, which was in complete contrast to the actions of the sales staff.  The phrase I heard over and over again from our salesperson, as well as all of the sales staff around us, was “doing my due diligence.”  So you aren’t interested in buying more points at this time?  Well I wouldn’t be doing my due diligence if I did not talk to you about how much you could benefit by purchasing more points!  Still not interested?  I wouldn’t be doing my due diligence if I didn’t leave the table and get advice from my manager on how to close this deal.   Starting to get exhausted from thinking of different ways to say no?  I wouldn’t be doing my due diligence if I didn’t bring my manager over to put on the pressure.  By continually referencing their “due diligence,” they were implying that they were truly trying to help us, but in reality they were just trying to help us spend our money.

What really frustrates me about the whole thing is the dishonesty of it all.  If they said to me “Laura, we want to try and sell you more points and in return we will give you a crisp $100 bill; it’s supposed to last an hour, but you’ll probably be there for two,” I would most likely feel less anger at the end of the meeting.  At least I knew what I was signing up for!  But instead, they convince you that their place is different – they aren’t selling, they are EDUCATING.  But they still require that both spouses attend, children in tow, no matter how inconvenient that may be.  Don’t worry, after I finish this blog I will begin my strongly worded email to the powers that be expressing my disdain for the situation.  But the good thing is that it reminded me once again how far honesty can take you; I will never purchase something from someone I don’t trust.  Even if I have to pay a little more, knowing that the person with whom I am working is honest and dependable is priceless.

 

2 Comments

  1. Never bought the timeshare thing. Happy to pay for aparthotels where we get the perks by being loyalty club members – free laundry, free takeout food and drink, name check recognition, free merchandise just because we say good things about them. In-law rellies have timeshare and it works for them, but I’ve had to ask to be removed from mailing and calling lists from those firms before because I really don’t buy their ‘get a free holiday if you’ll listen to our ways to help you spend your money’ schtick.

    Like

  2. Although I feel your pain and share your frustration, I was smiling as I read this, having been to so many of them myself. As I get older, I find that I have gotten quicker at some very witty comebacks for sales pitches. One surefire way to get out of “escalation” is to tell them you are maxed out on credit and can’t to take on ay more.

    In this case (again, in my infinite wisdom!) I believe I would have looked the manager in the eye and started with: “I have done my due diligence in respectfully saying that I am not interested– at least 3 times. I wish you would do yours in respecting my lack of interest in…(more points, etc.) A little much??? Nah!! It brings them to their knees when you make them see their awful (deceptive) ways.

    Also, I am no longer afraid of saying what’s on my mind with somewhat (somewhat?) of a bit of sarcasm- my email would start something like this: “I would not be doing MY due diligence if I didn’t write this letter to let you know just HOW dissatisfied I am with…but hey, that’s me!

    Good luck with it!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

